Anne's Weekly Obsession

Thanks to Kristilyn from A Winter Crafter for designing the banner

Image belongs to SyFy

Obsession: Eureka

Current Position: Middle of season 3

Summary: [from IMDB] The best minds in the US are tucked away in a remote town where they build futuristic inventions for the government’s benefit.

Why I like it:

  • The story: A normal guy becomes sheriff to a bunch of geniuses whose experiments go hilariously wrong – what’s not to like?! Sure just about every episode is somebody’s experiment exploding and Sheriff Carter figuring out how to clean it up, but each one is new and different, and I love it!
  • The witty banter: Let’s face it – geniuses don’t like to be told “no” Sheriff Carter and his assistant Jo Lupo are all kinds of sarcastic, trading barbs with these brilliant minds that often make me laugh out loud. Plus, the rivalry over Allison between Dr. Stark and Sheriff Carter is always putting them in tight spots together – SO FUNNY!
  • The characters: Most shows have one or two odd ducks somewhere. This show is almost ALL odd ducks. Take, for example, Taggert the big game hunter (I’m still not sure why he’s around Eureka, though it must have something to do with animals). His lack of modesty makes for some really awkward but funny moments. And then there’s Fargo. Oh Fargo. Somebody get you a girlfriend already! He may be a genius but he is so adorably socially inept! Half the time the problems are his fault and yet I find myself yelling at other characters for not keeping things out of his way – it’s like he’s this little lost puppy that I just want to protect!

This is definitely one I’d recommend to everyone! Sure the science-y stuff goes straight over my head, but you don’t really need that to have fun!

 

